Davangere District - Karnataka

Davangere, a city with self styled culture; yet inherited from generations. A record reveals existence of city much before 12 century with same name 'Davangere'. Farmers, traditional merchants, young lads learning engineering, medical, arts and other professional courses are the one you see all over the city.

Geographically located at 14.31 N, 75.58 E (Latitude & Longitude) and on map, city can be located on south central part of an Indian state Karnataka. 2,30,471 people live in the city, 12,47,954 in rural according 2001 census. The sex ratio in the district was 952 women to 1,000 men. The literacy rate in the district was 67.4% percent and 10,45,620 by number.

Paddy, Sugar cane, Groundnut, Sunflower, Cotton, Jower, Ragi, Banana, Mango to list few which are priority crops. Davangere is also having growing community for change in traditional crops to medicine plants, floriculture and hybrid crops. Regulated market located in heart of Davangere city hosts platform for both farmer and dealer for business. Three Sugar mills are ideally located for sugar cane farmers, and also there are good number of farmers still run their own ‘halinamane’ for jaggery. There are also numerous rice mills, oil extraction mills, cotton mills and agri related industries in and around city.

On 2nd March of 1934, Mahatma Gandhi visited Davangere and laid foundation stone for a high school. It’s not just beginning for educational era in Davangere but a major mile stone. Today there are 3 Engineering, 3 Medical, 2 Dental, 1 Fine Arts, and other professional courses like ayurveda, commerce, science, arts, agriculture, pharmacy and polytechnic. Kuvempu University’s study center, PG Center and Engineering Collage are in Davangere.

Karnataka -   Bagalkot, Bangalore, Bellary, Bidar, Belgaum, Bijapur, Chitradurga, Chamrajnagar, Chikmagalur, Davangere, Dakshin Kannad, Gadag, Gulbarga, Hassan, Haveri, Koppal, Kolar, Kodagu, Mandya, Mysore, Raichur, Shimoga, Tumkur, Udupi, Uttar Kannad
Andhra Pradesh - Adilabad, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Medak, Warangal, Khammam, Rangareddi, Nalgonda, Krishna, Guntur, Kurnool, Prakasam, Anantapur, Mahbubnagar, Nellore, Caddapah, Chittoor, Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, West Godavari, East Godavari