Salem - Tamilnadu

Salem is the 5th largest city of Tamil Nadu located in the central part of the southern most state of India. Almost completely surrounded by hills, Salem is one of the major textile centres in the country. It also has a steel plant run by the SAIL and the brand Salem Steel is very widely known. Salem is also occasionally known as Steel City.

Salem is also the capital of Salem district whose other major locations are Mettur, Omalur & Attur. The district is well connected by rail and road networks. Salem is also at the base of the renowned tourist destination of Yercaud hills, which offers breathtaking views both during the ride up the hill and from the peak.

The word "Salem" literally means, "surrounded by hills". The city of Salem is surrounded by several ranges of hills, including the Shevaroys and Yercaud hills.

Salem is also famous for mangoes as its mangoes are sent to various parts of the state and even around the state. It's a calm, beautiful and silent city of the state.

It has magnesite deposits, second largest in India. The companies like Dalmia and TANMAC have mines here.

Salem is also known as the Mango city in Tamilnadu,India.It's also famous for Sago, Bauxite, Lorry Body building, Hand loom Weaving and Steel Plants.

The name 'Salem' appears to have been derived from Sela or Shalya by which the term refers to the country around the hills, as in the inscriptions. Local tradition claims Salem as the birth place of Tamil poetess Avvaiyar.

The town is surrounded by an amphitheatre of hills, the Nagarmalai in the north, the Jeragamalai in the south, the Kanjanamalai on the west and Godumalai on the east. It is divided by the Thirumanimuthar in the main division. The fort is the oldest place of the town.


Karnataka -   Bagalkot, Bangalore, Bellary, Bidar, Belgaum, Bijapur, Chitradurga, Chamrajnagar, Chikmagalur, Davangere, Dakshin Kannad, Gadag, Gulbarga, Hassan, Haveri, Koppal, Kolar, Kodagu, Mandya, Mysore, Raichur, Shimoga, Tumkur, Udupi, Uttar Kannad
Andhra Pradesh - Adilabad, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Medak, Warangal, Khammam, Rangareddi, Nalgonda, Krishna, Guntur, Kurnool, Prakasam, Anantapur, Mahbubnagar, Nellore, Caddapah, Chittoor, Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, West Godavari, East Godavari